Quote

I broke his spell

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves.”

I eat to live. Not live to eat. If someone invents a pill of perfect nutritional food, I would happily take it every day. I can spend my shopping, cooking, eating, and dishing time on other more exciting things.

When my husband and I were newlyweds, he was always relaxed at the sofa while I was cooking. One day, I got irritated about his attitude and asked him “Don’t you feel anything? Why can you do this? Do you think only I have to cook because I am a woman? Do you think cooking is women’s job?”

Then, he innocently replied, “Oh, I’m sorry. I didn’t know you were thinking like that. I don’t think cooking is women’s job or only women should do it. But…women loves cooking for someone who they love?”
“What?!”
“I have believed women want to cook for their lovers. Don’t they? Am I wrong?”
I was speechless.

After I overcame the shock, I explained women’s thought in detail to him as a representative of women. We (or I) love cooking for our lovers on special occasions, not three times every day. Then, it was his turn to overcome a shock. He was dazed on the sofa for a while.

Now I can relax by reading books, watching TV, and surfing the Internet every Saturday afternoon, while he is cooking our lunch.

By the way, I recently found that keeping something is equally difficult. Keeping your body shape is difficult. Keeping your grades at school is difficult. Keeping saving money, keeping a diary, keeping being a nice person…each of them is difficult. So, it’s no wonder keeping your house clean is also difficult.

Leave a Reply

