Quote

Special Sandwich for Me

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “You, the Sandwich.”

If a restaurant were to name something after me, it would be…”wisskko’s grandma’s get-well-soon sandwich.”

When I was a child, my mother had a full-time job. I was raised by my grandmother. Whenever I stayed home sick from school, she made lunch for me. Usually she cooked rice porridge because it’s easy to digest. However, when I was getting better and my appetite was getting back, she always made some special sandwiches for me. I’ve never seen that she used any bread except the sandwich. Maybe sandwich was a symbol of something “modern”, “westernized”, “her-granddaughter-must-like” for her.

I still make this sandwich for myself when I catch a cold. It gives me a lot of energy.

ingredients: sliced bread, egg, ham, cabbage, margarine, mayonnaise, ketchup

1. Toast sliced bread slightly
2. Beat eggs and fry it as thin as possible (like a sheet of paper)
(Add salt and pepper to the egg if you like)
3. Slice cabbage as thin as possible
4. Spread margarine on the toasts
5. Put ham, egg, cabbage, mixture of mayo and ketchup on a toast and cover it with another toast
6. Press the sandwich softly a few times
7. Cut it into two or four
Voila! Here’s wissiko’s grandma’s get-well-soon sandwich! Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

