No Privacy

I’ve never wanted to be famous. Being famous is kind of scary to me.

I was born in a small rural town. Everyone knew each other. I couldn’t walk on the street without my neighbors’ watching and whispering about how I looked and what I did. My neighbors’ ability to gather information was incredible. When and why my parents scolded me severely, how many dresses my parents bought for me and how much they cost, what I hummed in the bath, they knew everything!

It was scary and stressful for me that I didn’t know them at all but they knew everything about me. I always wanted to go somewhere where no one pays attention to me.

Now I live in a bigger city. No one cares what I am and how I am. One of my dreams came true and I feel a little lonely.

8 thoughts on “No Privacy

  1. Thank you for writing this! I’m a country transplant in a big city too! At first I thought it was what I needed. I have been a decade now. The longer I live here, the more I realize city life may not be what I want long term. When I think forward I envision living on a farm, owning lots of land, privacy, and gardening. Not exactly going to achieve that in the city limits. The parts of the city I find myself drawn to, have a small town feel to them. It’s a small coffee shop where people learn your name, it’s that little corner store where the old man behind the counter still cares enough to know which customers prefer what brand of cigarettes (I’m not a smoker, only an observation I make). It’s even in the doctor’s office I prefer, where they know my name, though that may be partly because I’m there so frequently, That happens when you get Lupus though. (Don’t get Lupus) 😛

    • The pleasure is mine. Thank you for writing this! 🙂 I understand what you wrote very well. I thought I was free in this city at first, but it’s funny that I’ve recently realized that I’m trying to make a new connection like something I once hated. It seems very difficult to live alone for the rest of my life.

      I didn’t know what Lupus is. I googled and now I know what it is. I hope yours was not so bad. Don’t get Lupus again!

      • wisskko, The anonymity that i once sought in city life, the sense of being lost in a sea of faces…is the thing that now makes me feel so alone. I miss knowing my neighbors. It really is a different feeling in a city. I live in a city where almost no one is actually from here. It is an odd thing. I think I know maybe 5 people that are actually from this city. My lupus is the Systemic lupus erythematosus variety and Lupus is a chronic illness, I will have it the rest of my life. It is manageable with adequate treatment though and my doctors are on top of it. 🙂 Thank you for your kind words.

      • I misunderstood about Lupus. I thought it was just a rash. I jumped to the wrong conclusion without reading the explanation of the web very well. I’m sorry. I’m glad to hear it’s manageable and your doctor is very good! Have a good day! 🙂

      • It is okay, hopefully it is something you or none of your loved ones will ever have a reason to really understand! That is my hope for you! Have a fantastic day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

